The Nebraska Professor

Winter 2017/2018

About The Nebraska Professor

The Nebraska Professor is published periodically by the Nebraska State Conference of the American Association of University Professors (AAUP). This year, Julia Schleck has agreed to serve as editor and to bring together items of interest to the Conference. This issue will serve as the winter newsletter; a spring newsletter will be planned for the end of the academic year or beginning of the summer. If there are items that you would like to share with the members of the Conference, forward them to Julia Schleck. Her contact information may be found on the Conference website, linked below. By way of information, the membership of the State Conference stands at about 265 members, a rise of about 25 members since fall.

Fall Meeting 2017

The fall meeting of the Nebraska Conference of the AAUP was held on Saturday, October 21, 2017 at the University of Nebraska at Omaha. About thirty members attended the conference that included several presentations. The theme of the Conference was "Know Your Rights." It included presentations by Tom Coffey (Creighton) on *Governance Documents*, by Stephen Ramsay (UNL) on *Cyber-Security and Best Practices Online*, by Angie Eikenberry (UNO) on *Collective Bargaining Chapters*, by Julia Schleck (UNL) on *Advocacy Chapters*, by Jim McCarthy (Midland Lutheran) on *The Tommy Curry Case*, and by by Amanda Gailey (UNL) and Fidel Fajardo on *Speakling as Campus Activists*. In addition there was a reading of the play *Sedition* by the Angels Theatre company. The play dramatized events at UNL in the early 20th century in which professors were dismissed for their political views. In addition, there was a business meeting held in conjunction with the luncheon.

Chapter Contacts

The Conference has maintained a list of contacts in each Chapter in the state, and the Conference strives to keep this information up to date. These contacts may be found on the Conference website.

Interim President

On February 10, 2018, the Executive Committee of the Nebraska Conference, AAUP met to find a replacement for the Position of President, following the resignation of Donna Dufner. At the meeting the Nebraska State Conference Executive Committee reaffirmed that the mission of the AAUP is to support academic freedom and due process on Nebraska's campuses and that the actions taken by Past President Julia Schleck were in alignment with the mission of the AAUP. The Executive Committee also expressed its regret on the resignation of Dr. Dufner and thanked her for her past service. The Conference then dealt with the issues relative to the leadership of the Conference. In a series of motions, it was agreed that Julia Schleck would continue to be recognized as Past-President and would

The Nebraska Professor - Fall 2017

also assume the role of Newsletter Editor; Because Trish Wonch Hill could not move immediately into the position of President, the Committee moved to appoint Tom Coffey, who had served twice in the past (1996-1997 and 2014-2015), as interim president. The EC also voted to revive Committee A (on Academic Freedom) on the state level, and appointed Julia Schleck as Chair. If your chapter would like support in matters of academic freedom or due process, or if you are experiencing problems in this area and lack a chapter at your institution, you may contact Dr. Schleck for advice and assistance.

Conference Officers

The current Conference Officers are the following:

President Tom Coffey
Vice-President/President-Elect Trish Wonch Hill
Past-President/Newsletter Editor Julia Schleck
Treasurer Jim McCarthy
Secretary Chris Wentworth
At-large Delegate Kathy Wolfe

At-large Delegate Tessa Durham Brooks

Committee A on Academic Freedom Julia Schleck Bill McClung Webmaster

Current contact information may be found on the Conference website.

Call for Nominations/Elections

The Conference will hold elections for the following on or about April 6: •Ratification of the election of Interim President; •Election of delegates to the Assembly of State Conferences (ASC) Meeting (nominees of the Executive Committee are Tom Coffey (Creighton) and Trish Wonch Hill (UNL); •Conference Delegates: (nominees of the Executive Committee are Tom Coffey and Trish Wonch Hill). If anyone wishes to nominate or self-nominate for these positions, please send the nominations to Julia Schleck by April 5. If delegates are proposed by UNO for joint CBC/ASC service, a separate election will be held later, provided deadlines can be met.

National Committee A Investigation

On January 11-12, 2018, a team of investigators of the National AAUP Committee A spent two days at UNL in response to issues from the fall semester. More information will be made available when news is received from the National Office of AAUP.

Helpful Links

Website of the National AAUP: www.aaup.org
Website of the Nebraska Conference of the AAUP: www.aaup-ne.org

Page 2 2